top of page

The Walking Dead Deluxe #1-3 Review (spoilers)

Hello friends. I hope your weekend was good. As promised I am going to review TWD. This is one of my favorite series. I have been watching the show since 2011... Yeah I started on season 2 episode 1. I just remember the moment Rick was carrying his son through the field to Hersel's farm after he was shot by Otis. That was an iconic moment because Rick had been shot at the beginning of the series. Anyways sit back and enjoy my review.





Issue #1: The book opens up with a shootout between Rick and Shane versus some guy with a shotgun who is shouting "I ain't going back! I'll die first!" Rick gets shot. The next scene Rick wakes up in the hospital. Rick shouts, "Nurse!" as he is stumbling around disoriented. Rick walks into the hallway opens the elevator and he sees a dead body (this never happens in the TV show). The next scene is my favorite as it has some of the best artwork in issue #1. Rick finds what looks to be some sort of cafeteria door. It has a piece of wood across the handles keeping it shut. Rick slides out the piece of wood and opens the door revealing a bunch of undead corpses!



The above picture is an actual page taken from the issue.


Anyway Rick manages to get out of the hospital. He finds a bike and uses it to get back to his house. But he finds that his wife and son are not there. Rick gets hit over the head with a shovel. He wakes up in someone's house. This is the scene where he meets Morgan and Duanne. Rick takes both of them to the police station where they stock up on guns and ammunition. Rick allows Morgan to take one of the police cruisers (again this does not happen in the tv show). The book ends with Rick finding a walker lying on the ground. He shoots it and then drives off.


Letter hacks and cutting room floor. I'm not going to spoil this part. You will have to buy the books to find out haha.


I rate Issue #1 10 out of 10. It's possible my rating is a little biased since this is my favorite series and since I have seen the show, but overall the artwork is amazing, and also the fact that it's colored is awesome! I like the whole pacing so far.


Issue #2: I want to say the cover art for Issue #2 is fantastic... if that is not enough reason to get the issue I dont know what is haha.


In this issue Rick is looking for gas when he stumbles upon a farm house. Upon further searching he sees a horse. Rick puts a saddle on the horse and then is taking both of them to the city of Atlanta. Rick ends up in the city but he bites of more than he can chew when he ends up surrounded by the undead. The horse ends up getting eaten by walkers (which happens in the tv show). Rick barely escapes and then some random guy with a baseball hat helps Rick to get out of there. They climb the rooftops and escape. The guy with the baseball cap takes them back to their camp. At the end of the issue Rick ends up finding out that his wife and son are living in the camp!!!


I rate Issue #2 an 8 out 10. I am a little bit disappointed that Rick never climbed into a tank in the city to escape the walkers like he so iconically did in the TV show. But nonetheless the horse getting eaten was truly intense. Of course what makes this issue so great is Rick finding his wife and son against all odds.


Issue #3: In the opening Rick reunites with Shane, and Lori (although her name is not yet mentioned) says Shane helped them find safety. On the second page we now know the guy with the baseball cap's name is Glenn. He was fetching supplies in the city. Shane introduces Rick to Dale who is keeping watch on top of the RV with a rifle in his hand. Rick also meets Amy and Andrea and Donna. (Donna was not in the tv show). Rick and Lori sit around the campfire and eventually sleep. They wake up the next day. Dale warns Rick about Shane, and says Shane is not glad that Rick is back. He says Shane has his eyes on Lori as long as he's known them. But Rick shrugs off Dale and says that Shane is his friend. Rick and Shane go hunting when they see a walker eating a deer. Both of them debate if the deer is still edible but they both come to the conclusion that it's not. Meanwhile Donna gets attacked by a walker but Dale saves her life. Unbelievably the walker head is still moving and is alive. Rick comforts Lori at the end of the issue, while Shane is looking at both of them in a weird manor.


I rate Issue #3 9 out of 10 because we learn the names of such iconic characters like Glenn, Amy, Andrea, and Dale.


Well folks hope you like my quick summary of the issues as well as my ratings. I will be reviewing Issues #4 and 5 in December so watch out for that.


David


bottom of page