top of page

The Witcher Fading Memories #1 Review (spoilers)

So today I rushed out to my local comic book store and bought The Witcher #1. I've watched the first couple episodes of The Witcher on Netflix and enjoyed it although I'll admit that I havent gotten passed the first couple episodes. I'm thinking of continuing the series.


Anyway when I first started reading this comic I noticed that the letter font is a little different than most comics. I wouldn't say it's harder to read but it's rather unique. Anyway I'll do a quick summary of the book along with my rating.


At the beginning Geralt (The Witcher) talks about how beautiful the sky is. In the next scene he makes his way to a village in a place called Poviss. He is at what appears to be some sort of Inn. The people are surprised to see a witcher, and say they haven't seen one in ages. They say there's no monsters to kill. Geralt leaves the Inn. In the next scene Geralt appears to be thinking to himself and reflecting on his time as a fisherman and he tells himself the world didn't change but himself.


In the next scene there's a man talking to Geralt around a campfire and tells a story about mermaids. Apparently there was a man that wanted a mermaid for his bride but she wouldn't allow him. Then he took to hunting mermaids. He would slit their throats so they could never sing again. It's a rather sad story.


In the next scene someone tells Geralt that the mayor needs him and says there's monsters to kill. Apparently the monsters are called Foglets. There's one page where it shows Geralt fighting the Foglets. And Geralt is finally feeling himself again. He says he was made for this.


The book ends with another man saying the Foglets are back and that the mayor needs

Geralt again.


So anyway what did I think of the book? Honestly I'm a little bit disappointed. I got rather bored quickly. The artwork isn't fantastic. There's only one page of Geralt fighting monsters so if you're looking for action this isn't the book for you. I rate this comic 5 our of 10 probably my lowest rating so far of any comic. However this is a 4 part series and if you're a collector this should be an easy series to complete.

bottom of page