top of page

Year Zero Volume #1 Review (Spoilers)

This book by Benjamin Percy, Ramon Rosanas, and Lee Loughriddge is a new release that I picked up from the comic store for $4! The original price is $14. I got a discount because I bought 10 graphic novels which entitled me for a $10 discount on the 11th one that I buy.


This is another book about zombies. And although I promised you a review on TWD deluxe I just had to review this book first because I literally just finished reading it and it's fresh in my mind.


Here are the characters: Sara Lemons (from polar research station), Daniel Martinez (from Mexico), Saga Watanabe (from Tokyo), Fatemah Shah (from Afghanistan), and B.J. Hool (from Minnesota). There is constant back and for scenes with these characters as they each tell their own stories during the zombie outbreak.


I'm not going to do too much spoiling but my favorite character is B.J. Hool. He has spent the time building a bunker and preparing for the apocalypse while other people called him crazy. He was on his radio trying to communicate with anyone that could hear him when he receives a reply from a woman that he ends up developing a crush for. He risks his life getting to her house only to find that this mysterious woman turns out to be a guy named Kieth. Kieth tells B.J. that he ate his dog because he was starving and didn't have any food... Both of them go back to B.J's bunker.


My second favorite character is Saga because he is a yakuza member. If you're not familiar with the yakuza it's basically a crime syndicate in Japan. Saga is a hitman.


I love the artwork in this book. Certainly this book was worth $4... which is like a couple of medium coffees from Tim Hortons. To all my non-Canadian readers Tim Hortons is basically a coffee shop here in Canada! Anyways I rate this comic 6 out of 10 so far. I give it a lower rating because there is not much fighting against zombies. I'm expecting volume 2 to have more zombies and more action in it. I have high expectations for this series!


I will do a TWD deluxe review on Monday folks thanks for being patient.

bottom of page